Sports Memories

Published 9:28 pm Saturday, March 16, 2013

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago – 1963

Email newsletter signup

• In the semifinal round of District 2 Minnesota State High School basketball tournament, the Austin Packers defeated Albert Lea by a score of 71-56. Jim Bratvold led the Tigers with 15 points and Al Berg had 26 for the Packers.

• Albert Lea High School graduate Lewis Kennedy won the 130-pound weight class in the Big Ten Conference wrestling tournament.

• The Wells High School basketball team defeated Trimont 60-40 in the semifinal round of District 5. Wells was led in scoring by Gary Feist with 14 points, Al Redman and Tom Schultz with 12 each and Rich Wanzer with 11. Al Redman scored 24 points for Wells in their 63-47 win over Ceylon to capture the District 5 title.


25 years ago – 1988

•In the semifinal round of District 2A, Alden-Conger-Freeborn defeated Lyle 54-43 behind Bill Nelson with 20 points and Tim Staloch with 15. New Richland-Hartland defeated Blooming Prairie 62-48 in the other semi-final game. Kevin Boyer scored 19 points and Jim Peterson 12 for NR-H. A-C-F won the District title with a 57-45 win over NR-H. Nelson scored 21 points and Matt Potter 20 for A-C-F.

•Matt Sullivan scored 20 points, Steve Bangh, 19, and Al Christopherson, 13, in the ALHS basketball victory over Rosemount.

•Wells-Easton won the District 5A basketball title when they defeated Granada-Huntly-East Chain 60-40. Scott Heggen scored 21 points and B. J. Fisher 17 for W-E.


10 years ago – 2003

• The ALHS boys’ swimming and diving team finished in sixth place at the Minnesota State swimming and diving meet. Mitch Johnson placed second in the 200 yard freestyle and fourth in the 100 yard freestyle, Ethan Berg finished sixth in the 100-yard butterfly and Ben Schreiber placed 11th in the 100 yard butterfly.

• Ascension Lutheran won their third straight title in the Brotherhood Dartball League. Team members included Steve Guenthner, Wayne Hanson, Charlie Peterson, Jeff Moyer, Ron Venem, Rick Walther, Del Boyken, Barry Coughlin, Lowell Doppelhammer, Mike Bennett, Paul Linnes and Ron Noe.