Published 6:34 am Sunday, April 21, 2013

Wa Tan Ye Club

The Wa Tan Ye Service Club met April 1. President Dorothy Wedge called the meeting to order. Roll call was taken and Marie Querna was the only one absent. The club is hoping she will feel better and will be able to return for the next meeting. There was no correspondence to be read.

Minutes were read by JoAnn Holstad and Alice Petersen read the treasurer’s report. Both were approved and placed on file.

Email newsletter signup

The group celebrated anniversaries of some of the club’s members. Shirley Chase was reinstated on March 1, 1996. Bev Head and Delores Weller joined the club on March 4, 1991. Holstad became a member on March 2, 1970.

The club is very sorry to lose one of its members. DeLores Wegner passed away on March 17, 2013. She enjoyed her membership with the club and the club values her friendship and will miss her. Wegner joined the club on Nov. 2, 1998.

The club sold dish cloths on March 9 at the Home Based Show at Northbridge Mall. The club did not receive its order for dish cloths so it had to cancel selling them at the craft sale on March 16.

Some of the members went to the district meeting in Cresco, Iowa, on April 6.

The meeting was adjourned. Weller was the hostess for the meeting.

The March meeting was canceled because of the weather. The next meeting will be May 6.


VFW auxiliary

The Freemond Madson Veterans of Foreign Auxiliary met April 9 at the American Legion hall with President Eunice Hatleli presiding.

Secretary Lynda Vermedahl read the general orders and her secretary and treasurer’s reports.

In action taken, the charter was draped for auxiliary sister Kathryn Allen. Bless her memory. The election of 2013 of 14 officers was conducted as follows: President Frances Cammerer, Senior Vice President Marcia Petersen, Secretary and Treasurer Vermedahl, conductress Betty Jones, chaplain Ruby Fredrickson and three-year trustee Hatleli.

The installation of these officers will be at the regular meeting on May 13.

The delegates list will be sent in to the state and national conventions.

This is the year for the Veterans of Foreign Wars post and auxiliary to offer the “Buddy” poppy to the public for a contribution to help serve veterans and families. The group will be on the streets and in some store fronts May 17 and 18.

The District No. 1 convention and loyalty day meeting will be May 4 at Owatonna Hugo Matejcek Post 3723 starting at 9:30 a.m.

There is no Sunday meeting this year and no parade.

First Fistrict President Sondra Rowe from Owatonna and First District Commander Curt Wiebusch from Zumbro Falls will conduct the meetings. VFW ladies auxiliary President Laurie Dale will be the state representative at the meetings.

Vermedahl and Petersen served lunch, and Jones won the door prize.

The next meeting will be May 13 at the Legion hall with the post members serving lunch.