Gophers announce non-conference basketball schedule

Published 11:33 pm Tuesday, July 30, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS — Minnesota will play nine of its 13 nonconference games in 2013 at home, facing at least three teams who made the NCAA tournament last season.

The Gophers announced their non-league schedule on Tuesday. They’ll open with Lehigh on Nov. 8 and also host Montana, Coastal Carolina, Wofford, Florida State, New Orleans, South Dakota State, Nebraska Omaha and Texas A&M Corpus Christi at Williams Arena. Their lone road game is at Richmond on Nov. 16, and they’ll play Syracuse and two other teams at the Maui Invitational.

Montana, South Dakota State and Syracuse played in the NCAA tournament last season, with the Orange reaching the Final Four.

Email newsletter signup

The Gophers will play either Arkansas or California in their second game in Maui. Baylor, Dayton, Gonzaga and Chaminade are also in the field.