Sports Memories

Published 2:34 pm Saturday, August 31, 2013

By Chuck Anderson

 50 years ago – 1963

• Trades and Labor of Albert Lea defeated the Owatonna Elevator 6-5 in the Albert Lea Invitational softball tournament. Ken Heine pitched the win. Gene Berg led Trades and Labor with three hits, and Lenny Stanek and Arley Bachtle added two hits each.

Email newsletter signup

• In its season opener, the Alden High School football team defeated Waseca/Sacred Heart 40-0. Scoring touchdowns for Alden were Jim Schmidt, 2, and Cliff Staloch, Bob Lindeman, Bob Hoeg and Lowell McColley each scored once.

• Larry Kuster scored two touchdowns and Tim Colby, one, to lead the Wells High School football team to a 19-6 win over Blue Earth in its season opener.


25 years ago – 1988

• The Albert Lea High School cross country girls’ team won the Early Bird Invitational. Placing for the ALHS team were Sara Hartman, first; Steph Hartman, second; Robin Heyes, seventh; Amy Stay, eighth; Jenna Seul, 18th; Betty Olvera, 20th; Rhonda Goklin, 23rd; Stephanie Cafourek, 32nd and Michelle Sayre, 40th.

• The ALHS girls’ tennis team improved to 2-1 for the season with a 4-2 victory over Fairmont. Winning their singles matches were Kelly Lauman, Jenny Volkenant, Lisa Worke and Jenny Brietholtz.

• Sherrie Gayken, the new volleyball head coach at ALHS, greeted Amy Salisbury and Meg Mikulich, the two returning letter winners, at the start of practice.


10 years ago – 2003

• The ALHS volleyball team defeated Southland 3-1 by scores of 25-17, 24-26, 26-16 and 25-12. Emily Bartusek had nine kills and, 11 digs and Danielle Rankin had seven kills, 15 digs and three aces.

• The ALHS boys’ soccer team defeated Owatonna 4-1. Scoring goals for the Tigers were Jeremy Jacobson, Jake Clark, Justin McGinnis and Brady Plantage.

• Glenville-Emmons defeated Spring Grove 3-2 in a volleyball game by scores of 12-25, 25-18, 25-13, 23-25 and 15-12. Megan Bjorklund had 10 kills, and Becky Erickson had nine.

• The ALHS girls’ tennis team lost to Owatonna 5-2. The No. 1 doubles team of Nikki Rafdal and Ashley Helgerson and the No. 3 team of Anne Trebil and Dezeray Jacobs were winners for Albert Lea.