Nominating committee presents slate of candidates

Published 9:04 am Friday, September 13, 2013

A nominating committee appointed and approved by the Albert Lea-Freeborn County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors have presented a slate of candidates to serve a three-year term beginning Oct. 24.

The candidates are Jeff Woodside, Albert Lea Select Foods, second term, Kade Vershay, Dave Syverson Auto Plaza, second term, Stephanie Haedt, Peterson, Savelkoul, Kolker, Haedt & Benda, Ltd., second term, Randy Cirksena, Randy Cirksena State Farm, second term, and Adenuga Atewologun, Riverland Community College, first term.

In addition, the following candidates are appointed for a one-year term beginning Oct. 1: Jeff Eaton, Eaton Sport and Spine, Patricia Dahl, Mayo Clinic Health System in Albert Lea and Austin, and Amy Davis, Cargill Value Added Meats.

Email newsletter signup

All members have the right to place additional names into nomination. Nominees must be active members in good standing of the Albert Lea-Freeborn County Chamber of Commerce. No board member who has served two full three-year terms is eligible for re-election until a period of one year has elapsed from the expiration of that term. A board member appointed to serve the remaining portion of a regular term is eligible for election to a succeeding three-year term.

Additional candidates for directors may be nominated by petition bearing the genuine signatures of at least 20 members in good standing of the Chamber. Such petitions shall be filed with the nominating committee within 10 days after the notice as been given. The determination of the nomination committee as to the legality of the petition shall be final.

If legal petitions present additional candidates, the names of all candidates will be placed on a ballot in alphabetical order. The ballot shall be mailed to all members of this corporation whose dues are current and will be instructed to vote for one director for each vacancy and return it to the Chamber within 10 days.

Should any member have questions concerning the nominating process they should contact the Chamber at 373-3938.