Sports Memories: Jan. 4

Published 6:00 am Sunday, January 4, 2015

50 years ago: 1965

• Jim Bratvold scored 17 points and Warren Shurson, 11, in the Albert Lea boys’ basketball team’s win over Wells. The Wildcats were led by Larry Sonnek with 12 points and Jeff Miller with 11. The Tigers’ season record was 3-3.

• The Albert Lea wrestling team raised its season record to 4-1 with a 26-16 win over Robbinsdale. Recording pins for the Tigers were Mark Allen at 103 pounds and Chuck Jean at 154 pounds.

Email newsletter signup

• The Ellendale boys’ basketball defeated Emmons 63-62 behind 16 points by Butch Paulson. Larry Rasmusson scored 20 points in a losing cause for the Eagles.


25 years ago: 1990

• In the opening round of the Austin-Moose Holiday Hockey Tournament, Albert Lea defeated Mankato 5-1. Scoring goals for the Tigers were Chad Hacker, 2, Brett Adams, Jason Studier and Kyle Thomas. The Tigers defeated Henry Sibley 5-3 in the championship game. Scoring for the Tigers were Justin Matson, 2, Hacker, Rich Savelkoul and Thomas.

• The Albert Lea boys’ swimming team beat Rochester John Marshall 85-84. Individual winners for the Tigers were Tim Hovde in the 100 breaststroke and Chad Bergo in the 200 individual medley. Paul Baumgardt, Kevin Nelson, Jason Alders and Hovde won the 200 medley relay.

• The Northwood-Kensett girls’ basketball team lost to Riceville 76-72 in four overtimes. Amy Belville scored 35 points for the Vikings, and Joleen Johnson added 20.

• Named to the Albert Lea Tribune’s All-Area football team were the following: Jared Butler, Brandon Klukow and Adam Lohse from Albert Lea; Jason Hemmingsen, Scott Martinson, Marcus Peterson and Ryan Wach from Alden-Conger; Seth Buchanan, Caleb Claussen, Wade Flattum and Alex Hansen from Glenville-Emmons; Adam Hengeseg, Nick Kayser, Justin Kester and Tyler Tweeten from Lake Mills; Jake Bushlack, Dave Chicos, Matt Holland, Jason Lennox, Dan Lewer, Bjorn Peterson and Chris Sonage from NRHEG; Preston Davidson, Tom Fierova, Brad Haberman, Corey Hagen, Kelvin Hendrickson, Jake Madsen, Eric Parker, Ben Schipull and Kyle Waller from Northwood-Kensett; Callen Pitcher, Dustin Rohwere and Adam Schrader from United South Central.

• Dave Capitani from Northwood-Kensett was named Coach of the Year and Bjorn Peterson of NRHEG was named the Player of the Year.