Sports Memories: March 22

Published 6:00 am Sunday, March 22, 2015

50 years ago: 1965

• Named to the Big Nine All-Conference basketball team was 6-0 senior Jim Bratvold of Albert Lea. Bratvold was fourth in conference scoring with an average of 19.7 points per game.

• The Albert Lea boys’ gymnastics team finished in third place at the Minnesota state gymnastics meet. Roger Neist of the Tigers won the parallel bars event and placed second in all-around scoring.

Email newsletter signup

• Green Lea won the Men’s City League volleyball title. Team members were Lowell Brady, Al Brooks, Jack Greengo, Delano Hovey, Arvid Stiles, Del Schnoor and John Polis.

• Named to the Gopher All-Conference basketball team were Bruce Babcock, Dwight Casper and Perry Haugen from New Richland; Steve Fritz, Denny Kruckeberg and Bob Tonolli from Blooming Prairie; and Daryl Paulson from Ellendale.


25 years ago: 1990

• In the Region 1A boys’ basketball tournament title game, NRHEG lost to Lake City 47-32. The Panthers finished the season with a 19-5 record.

• Named to the Gopher All-Conference girls’ basketball team were Kris Boettcher, Darcy Evenson and Jenny Stenzel from Alden-Conger-Freeborn; and Lisa Sveen and Janean Flatness from Glenville-Emmons.

• Named to the 1989-90 Big Nine All-Conference boys’ hockey team from Albert Lea were Kyle Thomas, Jason Studier and Anders Larson.

• The Minnesota Gophers men’s basketball team defeated Northern Iowa 81-78 in the NCAA Southeast Regional. Willie Burton scored 36 points and had 12 rebounds and Kevin Lynch and Walter Bond added 12 points each for the Gophers.


10 years ago: 2005

• For the first time since 1936, the Albert Lea boys’ basketball team advanced to the Minnesota state basketball tournament after defeating Faribault 51-44. The Tigers were defeated by Shakopee 42-39 in the state quarterfinals.

• The Minnesota Gophers defeated St. Francis 64-53 in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament. Jamie Broback scored 17 points; Janel McCarville had 12 points, 15 rebounds and 5 blocks for the Gophers.