Sports Memories: April 5

Published 6:00 am Sunday, April 5, 2015

50 years ago: 1965

• The Tigers team was the regular season and playoff champion in the Albert Lea women’s City Volleyball League. Team members included Mert Grey, Andrea Nelson, Marge Loewen, Alice Morrison, Judy Holloway and Irene Bowman.

• Named to the Border All-Conference basketball team were Chuck Hinkley, Dick McKean and Rick Bishop from Freeborn High School, Al Rasmussen and John Lair from Emmons High School and Bob Hoeg from Alden High School.

Email newsletter signup

• The Wells High School baseball team returned nine letter winners: Les Tatarek, Larry Sonnek, Larry Kuster, Dick Matthies, Tom Colby, John Frank, Gene Hassing, Tom Novak and Bob Prang.


25 years ago: 1990

• The Albert Lea Technical College coed volleyball team took first place in the Southeast Regional Technical College Tournament. Team members were Sue Bakken, Mike Stanek, Stacey Witten, Paula Worke, Kirk Kiel and Judd Bang.

• Dress Realty won the regular-season title in the Albert Lea men’s A basketball league with a record of 12-3. Team members were Tom Jones, Paul Woodside, Maurie Monson, John Miller, Jeff Dress, John Yost and Bill Dress.

• Named to the Big Nine All-Conference wrestling team from Albert Lea were Brian Hensch, Nate Skaar, Scott Johnston and Max Bjerke.

• Lou-Rich won the regular-season and playoffs titles in the Albert Lea men’s B basketball league. Team members were Paul Olson, Jon Christenson, Randy Tomschin, Blane Hammer, Scott Woitas, Steve Enderson, Jeff Kristy and Joe Sczublewski.


10 years ago: 2005

• NRHEG won the Gopher Conference indoor track and field meet with 107 points, and United South Central/Alden-Conger placed second with 90 points. First-place finishers were Sonny Berg in the 55-meter high hurdles, John Coffield in the 1,600 run and Blake Kerkhoff in the 400 dash.

• Named to the Big Nine All-Conference wrestling team from Albert Lea were Brandon Klukow, Ben Berhow, Logan Kortan, Zach Hansen, Beau Hansen, Zach McGinnis, Matt Morris and Jared Butler.