A.L. track won triangular

Published 9:00 am Sunday, May 8, 2016

50 years ago: 1966

• A home run and a triple by Rick Swanson led the Albert Lea High School baseball team to a 7-1 victory over Owatonna. Dick Wayne picked up the win for the Tigers.

• Ellendale High School lost its first baseball game in the Gopher Conference to New Richland 2-1. Winning pitcher sophomore Tom Bergner recorded 11 strikeouts.

Email newsletter signup

• Kiester raised its Border League baseball record to 3-0 after defeating Freeborn 15-2. Larry Olson led Kiester with a double, a triple and three RBIs.

• Glenville defeated Elkton 9-1 behind the pitching of Dick Grinolds in a Southland Conference baseball game.


25 years ago: 1991

• The ALHS girls’ track and field team won a triangular meet with 69 points to 50 for Faribault and 45 for Owatonna. Placing first for the Tigers were Mollee Ludtke in the 100 and the 200 meters, Carla Zevenbergen in the long jump and Jody Bumpos in the high jump. Also placing first for the Tigers was the 400×200 team of Ludtke, Kirsten Nowak, Julie VanderPloeg and Michelle Sayer and the 4×400 relay team of Sayer, Jessica Morris, Steph Applegate and Kristi Edwin.

• The ALHS girls’ golf team scored 184 to Rochester Mayo’s 213 and Mankato West’s 215 and raised their undefeated season record 6-0. Scores for Albert Lea were Jodi Mack (44 – medalist), Leah Mattson (45), Lisa Christopherson (47) and Traci Emerson (48).


10 years ago: 2006

• Molly Hacker pitched a two-hitter in NRHEG’s 3-0 win over United South Central. NRHEG season record improved to 10-4 and its Gopher Conference mark to 7-2.

• The NRHEG boys’ baseball team defeated Waterville-Elysian-Morristown 4-1 and raised its Gopher Conference mark to 7-1. Joe McGuire was the winning pitcher and Brian Warnke had three hits.

• Jarad Bowman shot a (36), Tyler Brackey (39), Drew Klick (44) and Jessie Tovar and Mike Larson (45) for ALHS in their 164 score to second place Fairmont’s 176 and Hayfield’s 180.

• The Glenville-Emmons boys’ golf team defeated LeRoy-Ostrander 180-189. Scores for the Wolverines were Jarad Knutson and Luke Klingson (42), Devin Yost (46) and Brad Thompson (50).