Campus notes

Published 9:00 am Sunday, May 1, 2016

Albert Lea native inducted 

Brooke Hanson of Albert Lea was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Hanson was initiated at Wayne State College. Hanson is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year.

Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction. Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, Lousiana, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Its mission is “To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

Email newsletter signup


Student accepted to Phi Theta Kappa

Ridgewater College recently announced Emily Goskeson of Albert Lea has been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.

Induction ceremonies were March 16 at the Hutchinson campus and March 31 at the Willmar campus.