Campus Notes

Published 9:00 am Sunday, February 12, 2017

Area students recognized

Eric Eliason, dean of Concordia College and vice president of academic affairs, has announced the names of students whose superior academic achievement during the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year placed them on the dean’s honor list at Concordia College in Moorhead, according to a press release.

Area students recognized on the list were Tyler Egge of Albert Lea, Solveig Lange of Albert Lea, Claire Bias of Alden and James Dundas of Wells.

Email newsletter signup

To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have a grade point average of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

ISU dean’s list released

The Iowa State University College of Human Science’s dean’s list honors students who have earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester of 2016, according to a press release.

Among those recognized were Hallie Erdahl, Sydney Larson and Samantha Mattingly of Lake Mills; and Sydney Overgaard and Karina Stripe of Albert Lea, according to a press release.

Local students graduate

Megan Gilbertson and Levi Hacker of Albert Lea earned degrees from the University of Iowa at the close of the fall 2016 semester, according to a press release.

The University of Iowa is one of the nation’s premier public research universities, dedicated to academic excellence, groundbreaking discoveries and creations, commitment to Iowa and the world, and a culture that prizes community, diversity and opportunity, according to a press release.

UND releases dean’s list

More than 1,300 students were named to the dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester at the University of North Dakota, according to a press release. 

The dean’s list comprises students whose grade point average are in the top 15 percent of the enrollment in each of the university’s degree granting colleges and schools. A student must have completed no fewer than 12 semester hours of academic work for the semester, of which eight or more hours must be graded work rather than satisfactory or unsatisfactory.

Schafer Overgaard of Albert Lea was among those honored on the list.