High school musicians compete in contest

Published 12:45 pm Saturday, February 4, 2017

Albert Lea High School musicians competed at the Minnesota State High School League solo and ensemble contest Jan. 21 at Lakeville South High, according to a press release.

Students sang and played for judges for a score and rating of either fair, good, excellent or superior based upon their performance.

Students singing solos were Noah Iverson, Natalie Weiland, Katie Boettcher, Daniela Galvan, Alexis Rothmeier, Presley Duenes, Jeorge Brinda, Lizzie Kunkel-Erickson, Katie Funk, Noah Wiese, Natalie Day, Caitlynn Blizzard, Anna Boettcher, Brayden Boettcher, Ryan Nelson, Bethany Tennis, Lydia Boorsma, Justine Nelson, Sydne Reichel, Jessica Fernandez, Summer Beightol, Abigail Le, Charley Fleek, Ali Christensen, Nikolai Brinda, Gigi Otten, Caitie Pathammavong, Karen Murillo, Dane Brownlow, Isaiah Wall, Michael Blong, Camryn Keyeski, Billie Maxson, Jens Lange, Maddie Willey, Aaron Zogg, Kailey Christensen, Jessica Weiland, Sierra Simmons, Josh Englin, Sam Ehrhardt, Travis Nemec, Jack Buendorf, Terri Wolfe and Heather Wirkus.

Email newsletter signup

Also singing duets were Katie and Anna Boettcher, and Summer Beightol and Abigail Le.

The chorale also earned high ratings, as well as a women’s ensemble singing “No Time.” Dane Brownlow was awarded Best in Site for his performance.

The following students performed a solo on their band instrument: Darren Guildner (alto saxophone), Jenna Seavey (flute), Jacob Miller (clarinet), Alana Skarstad (flute), Jens Lange (trumpet), William Kreun (French horn), Joshua Englin (trumpet), Jack Buendorf (trumpet), Olivia Stensrud (trombone), Charley Fleek (French horn), Maddie Willey (flute), Greta Hagen (clarinet), Katie Boettcher (flute), Jonah Walker (baritone saxophone), Jessica Weiland (flute), Anna Boettcher (clarinet), Grace Chalmers (tenor saxophone), Lorayna Telles (flute), Natalie Day (clarinet), Gigi Otten (flute), Emily Wangen (timpani) and Logan Petersen (marimba).

Performing ensembles were Lorayna Telles and Jayden Hammer (flute duet), Kaylee Hansen and Erica Schleisman (clarinet duet), Venesses Brito Lino and Lisbeth Magdaleno Garcia (flute duet), and Jarrod Guildner and Jonah Walker (trumpet and baritone saxophone duet).

The following students performed a solo on their string instrument: Abi Govea (violin), Sam Cano (violin), Lukas Petersen (viola), Morgan Bjorklund (violin), Jens Lange (violin), Anna Bordewick (violin), Brayden Boettcher (viola), Parker Jenson (bass), Katie Funk (violin), Noah Wiese (cello), Noah Iverson (viola) and Justine Nelson (violin).

Performing ensembles were Jens Lange and Emily Wangen (violin and viola duet) and the chamber orchestra.

Jens Lange was awarded Best in Site for his violin solo.