Lea College goes .500 in 1st year of hoops

Published 9:00 am Sunday, March 26, 2017

50 years ago: 1967

• Lea College of Albert Lea completed its first basketball season with a record of 10-10. Jim Roberts, a 6’ 4” center, averaged 18.5 points per game and led the team with 146 rebounds.

Leading the wrestling team were John Lucia at 152 pounds and a season record of 8-0-1, Mike Hemmerich at 177 pounds and a season record of 8-1 and Albert Lea native Mike Roberts at heavyweight with a season record of 5-0.

Email newsletter signup

• Albert Lea High School graduate Bob Hatch placed third at 123 pounds in the AAU Championships.

• Orlo Willmert of Albert Lea defeated Roger Dahl 17-21, 21-14, 21-15 and 21-16 to win the First City of Albert Lea ping pong yournament.

25 years ago: 1992

• Named to the Albert Lea Tribune All-Area 1992-93 Wrestling Team were the following by the high school they attended; Albert Lea High School – Albert Savala 119 pounds, Travis Wasmoen 125 pounds, Nate Skaar 135 pounds, Lupe Reyes 152 pounds, Dave Mendenhall 160 pounds and Mark Bell, heavyweight; Alden-Conger – Jon Ignaszewski 119 pounds and Mike Mattson 152 pounds; Glenville-Emmons – Jeremy Knutson 125 pounds, Adam Johnson 130 pounds, Justin Senne 135 pounds and Jeremy Nelson 145 pounds; Lake Mills – John Budach 125 pounds New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva – Brad Broulik 103 pounds, Cory Klemmenson 112 pounds, Scott Klocek 130 pounds and Dave Bunn 145 pounds; Northwood-Kensett – Chad Venz 130 pounds United South Central – Dan Kohler 130 pounds, Jeff Bullerman 135 pounds, Eric Wegner 140 pounds, Brian Bullerman 160 pounds and Dan Schimek, heavyweight.

10 years ago:  2007

• Named to the Corn Bowl Conference basketball boys’ first team from N-K were Cody Hanson and Dan Bestul. Jordan Cotter was named to the second team and Matt Hengesteg received Honorable Mention. Angie Sime from N-K was named to the Corn Bowl Conference basketball girls’ second team and Kate Hartman received Honorable Mention.

  Dan Bestul  of N-K was named to the Iowa All-State first team and Cody Hanson was named to the third team.