• 36°

Meet the Athlete: Luke Groe

Lake Mills senior is a triple-threat athlete for Bulldogs

Q: What grade are you in?

A: I am currently a senior.

Q: What town do you live in, and which school do you attend?

A: I live just outside Lake Mills and attend Lake Mills Community School.

Q: Who is your immediate family?

A: Steve and Melissa are my mom and dad. I have three sisters; Lexi is my twin, Kate and Megan are also twins and they are freshmen this year.

Q: Which sports do you play?

A: I play basketball, baseball and run track.

Q: What is your favorite part of track and field?

A: I enjoy running at the meets.

Q: What has track and field taught you?

A: Track has taught me that hard work really does pay off.

Q: What’s your favorite sports memory?

A: My favorite sports memory is beating Forest City this season in basketball. The game was at home and we won on a last second shot by Charlie Dugger.

Q: How did you get started in track and field?

A: I went out for track in seventh grade and have stayed with it ever since.

Q: What sports did your family members play?

A: Lexi plays volleyball, basketball and runs track. Kate plays basketball and softball and throws the shot put and discus on the track team. Megan plays volleyball, basketball, softball and runs track. My mom and dad were both pretty good athletes in high school, too.

Q: What are your sports-related achievements?

A: I am a multi-year starter on the basketball and baseball teams. I was a basketball team captain and Second Team All-Conference as a senior. I hope to be a multi-event state track meet participant this year. We have set some goals we hope to achieve on the track. My final baseball season is yet to happen.

Q: What are your sports-related goals?

A: Right now, my goal is to qualify for the state track meet at Drake.

Q: Who is your favorite professional athlete? Why?

A: Mike Conley, because he’s very good and seems to stay humble in the process.

Q: What are your college plans? Major?

A: I plan to attend NIACC for two years and then transfer to Iowa State. I plan to major in agricultural engineering.

Q: What is your favorite school subject?

A: Ag class.

Q: Who is your favorite teacher?

A: Mr. Rice (track coach, too).

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: I enjoy anything related to farming. I also try to find a little time to do some hunting and fishing.

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job would be to be a farmer!

Q: What is your favorite TV show?

A: “Shark Tank.”

Q: What is an interesting fact about you?

A: I own my own small business.