Chuck Anderson: Albert Lea defeated Waseca in VFW playoffs 25 years ago

Published 2:00 pm Saturday, July 29, 2017

Sports Memories by Chuck Anderson

50 years ago: 1967

• The roster for the Tribune-Local 824 Albert Lea Slowpitch playoff champion team which represented Albert Lea in the Minnesota State Tournament included: John Goodmanson, Steve Nelson, Steve Hanson, Vince Cerrato, Bob Sorenson, Jim Malepsy, Terry Jensen, Bob Nelson, Mike Hanson, Gary Olson, Dennis Wahlstrom, Marv Bednar, Roger Jackson and Howard Lestrud.

Email newsletter signup

25 years ago: 1992

• In the opener of the Western Division playoffs, the Albert Lea VFW Post 447 baseball team defeated Waseca 11-1. Winning pitcher Tom Drasher threw a one hitter and Matt Trygstad stole three bases for Post 337. 

• The Albert Lea Trades and Labor 12 and under baseball team defeated the Northfield Gold team 10-0. Jared Palmer pitched a four hitter for Albert Lea and Richard Bagley, Ray Roberts and Andrew Distad each had two hits.

• Flight winners in the 1992 Green Lea Golf Course Club Championship were the following: champion, Mick Hockinson; presidential, Steve Lee; first, Scott Rasmussen; second, Randy Cocheran; third, Ace Carlson; fourth, Brian Vogt; fifth, Al Toft; sixth, Jack Werner; seventh, Bob Dreisbach; and eighth, Jim Godtland. Winners in the women’s division were LeAnne Maiser in the champion flight and Brenda Ludtke in the presidential flight.

10 years ago: 2007

• Catcher Casey Woodside hit a three-run home run to lead the Albert Lea American Legion baseball team to a 6-2 victory over Owatonna.

• The Albert Lea U-14 soccer team defeated Dakota Rev 3-1 to win the South District tournament.

• Winners by age group at the 2007 Crossroads Celluler Junior Golf Classic were the following: boys 11 and under, Shea Svendsen; 12 and 13, Brandon Neise; 14 and 15, Cody Anderson; Girls 11 and under, Emma Tewes; 12 and 13, Morgan Field; and 14 and 15, Erin Brick.

• Flight winners in the 2007 Albert Lea Green Lea Golf Club Championship were the following: champion, Mike Nelson; presidential, Bob Oothoudt; first, Scott Rasmussen; second, Brad Williamson; third, Earl Krieger; fourth, Terry Adams; fifth, Larry Runden; sixth, Jack Werner; seventh, Mike Westney; and eighth, Darrel Soper. Marti Anderson won the women’s championship flight.