Chuck Anderson: Albert Lea football was undefeated 50 years ago

Published 11:24 pm Friday, September 22, 2017

Sports Memories by Chuck Anderson

50 years ago: 1967

• In their opening football game, Lea College defeated Willmar Junior College 58-20. Bob Swanson gained 200 yards on nine carries and Brent Etnyre rushed for 93 yards.

Email newsletter signup

• Wells High School placed first in a cross country meet with 25 points. Fairmont placed second with 40 points, New Ulm finished third with 80 points and Winnebago was last with 93 points. The Wild Cats top-four places were second, Terry Jones; fourth, Dan Fellows; fifth, Wayne Dallman; and sixth, Bill Wilder.

• The Albert Lea High School football team remained undefeated at 2-0 in the Big Nine Conference after shutting out Rochester John Marshall 26-0. Donn Drummerhausen scored three touchdowns and Chuck Sherman had one for the Tigers.

• ALHS defeated Northfield 20-37 in a cross country meet. Tim Peterson placed first, Jim Parry second and Brendan O’Brain third for the Tigers.

25 years ago: 1992

•The ALHS girls’ swim and dive team defeated Rochester Mayo 101.5-84.5. Individual winners for Albert Lea were freshman Christie Strecker in the 100-yard breaststroke, Sarah Kirsch in the 100-yard freestyle and April Book in diving. Also, the 200-yard medley team of Strecker, Kirsch, Melanie Maruska and Steph Johnson won for the Tigers.

• The United South Central volleyball team shut out St. Peter, 3-0, by scores of 15-1, 15-2 and 15-8. Coleen Hill was 14 for 14 serving and Jane Psser had 11 kills for the Rebels.

10 years ago: 2007

• The Albert Lea Co-Ed Competitive Volleyball League was won by the Green Mill team. Team members were Jason Fornwald, Beth Krick, Jesse Krick, Dale Buendorf, Kristen Shanahan, Heather Heitman, Tonya Prouty and Paula Buendorf.

• The ALHS girls’ soccer team defeated New Ulm 5-0 to win the Albert Lea soccer invitational. Albert Lea won its first-round game 3-0 over Worthington. Scoring goals for the Tigers were Brittini Lair, Conner Peterson and Jenna Christianson. Named to the All-Tournament team from Albert Lea were Abbey Arends, Sophie Miller, Morgan Stadheim, Brittini Lair and Conner Peterson.

• Jake Brekken scored three touchdowns and Steve Hengesteg scored two for the Lake Mills football team in its 42-8 win over North Iowa. The Bulldogs raised their record to 3-1.