Chuck Anderson: Gophers defeated Hoosiers 50 years ago

Published 10:20 pm Friday, November 24, 2017

Sports Memories by Chuck Anderson

50 years ago: 1967

• The Lea College basketball team opened their season with a 106-66 victory over Dr. Martin Luther. Leading scorers were Ron Bendoraitis with 16 points, Tom Hanratty with 14 and Jim Roberts with 13.

Email newsletter signup

• The Indiana Hoosiers were defeated by the Minnesota Gopher football team 33-7 for their first loss of the season. The Gophers quarterback Curt Wilson scored four touchdowns and passed for one more. John Wintermute gained 135 yards in 23 carries for the Gophers.

25 years ago: 1992

• The United South Central volleyball team lost in the final round of Section 2A playoffs to Tracy-Milroy 2-3 by scores of 16-14, 15-4, 13-15, 4-15 and 5-15 and were eliminated from the Minnesota state volleyball tournament. Named to the All-Tournament team for the Rebels were Jane Passer and Kathy Ellsworth.

• The Albert Lea Tribune All-Area football player of 1992 was Terry Truebenbach of NRHEG and the A.L. Tribune All-Area football coach of 1992 was Jeff Erdmann of NRHEG. Named to the A.L. Tribune All-Area football team by high school were the following; NRHEG – Neil Bentley, Truebenbach, Kevin Larson, Jeremy Stoddard, Kerry Timmerman, Dale Boverhuis and Darian Baker; ALHS – Dusty Gonzales, Chad Ditlevson, Rick Nyegaard, Reid Olson, Lee Kuiters and Mike Boettcher; United South Central – Joe Mutschler, Les Prange, Chris Bushlack and Mark Ricke; Northwood-Kensett – Jayson Newman and Josh Dodd; Alden-Conger – Jamie Linn and Chris Thostenson; Lake Mills – Jeff Jorth and Mark Helgeson; Glenville-Emmons – Scott Davis.

10 years ago: 2007

• The A.L. Tribune All-Area football player of 2007 was Blake Kerkhoff of NRHEG and the 2007 All-Area football coach of 2007 was Dan Stork of NRHEG. Named to the A.L. Tribune All-Area football first team by high school were the following; NRHEG – Kerkhoff, Dakato Tracy and Brad Kruckeberg; Lake Mills – Brent Bjelland and Steve Hengesteg; N-K – Michael Bachtle; ALHS – Louie Grossman and Adam Madrigal; Alden-Conger – Mitchell Kleinschrodt and Matt Bremseth; United South Central – Tom Voigt and Jake Bonsack.