Campus Notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, August 4, 2018

Wartburg College students graduate

Wartburg College awarded diplomas to 292 students during spring commencement on May 27. Those receiving diplomas include Sara Sanderson, daughter of Mark and Karen Sanderson of Albert Lea, who graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in fitness management and business administration. Makenzie Thorson, daughter of Todd and Jill Thorson of Lake Mills, graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts degree in graphic design.

Area students recognized

Email newsletter signup

Alyssa Field of Ellendale and Granger Kingland of Northwood were named to the dean’s list for academic excellence for the spring 2018 semester at Bethel University. The dean’s list honors students who achieve an outstanding scholastic record during a semester with a grade point average of 3.6 or greater.

Area natives graduate

The following local residents have received their degree from Western Governors University. Albert Lea natives Alicia Un received a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing, and Elizabeth Schafer received a Master of Science degree in nursing education.

Local students graduate

Bethel University held its annual commencement ceremony recognizing graduating students following the 2018 spring semester. Jessie Olson, daughter of of John and Barb Olson of Clarks Grove received a BA in Spanish, and Hunter Kingland, son of Douglas and Gretchen Kingland of Northwood, received a bachelor’s degree in business. 

Riverland Community College releases honor lists

Riverland named many area students to the president’s and dean’s list for the 2018 spring semester. To be eligible for the president’s list, students must have completed 12 credits per semester with letter grades and have earned a grade-point average of 4.0 on a 4.0 scale.

To be eligible for the dean’s list students must have completed 12 credits per semester with letter grades and have earned a grade-point average of 3.25 to 3.99 on a 4.0 scale. Those named to the president’s list were: Stephanie Bell, Anna Bordwick, Karlie Braun, Grace Chalmers, Kelsey Davis, Alex Dulitz, Deborah Dyvig, Makenzie Kenyon, Rowan Kraft, Benjamin Leisen, Brittany Miller, Cody Miller, Emery Morua, Loryssa Petersen, Zachary Rice, Aline Teran Lazaro, Monroe Warren and Dakota Zuniga all of Albert Lea; Kaleb Bendickson, Brett Neel and Christian Vokoun of Alden; Benjamin Smith of Ellendale; Sadie Mortenson and Lillie Nielsen of Hartland; Andrew Widern and Whitney Wilder of Walters and Kaylynn Healey of Wells. Students named to the dean’s list were: Chandler Anderson, Faith Anderson, Justtan Bellrichard, Amanda Bera, Lyric Blake-Domke, Angela Bolin, Katherine Bradley, Andrew Bram, Abigail Buchanan, Mathew Cheever, Alexandrea Christensen, Lacey Clay, Robert Culbertson, Heather Davies, Luis Estrada, Aaron Fitzlaff, Madeline Fjermestad-Williams, Zach Glazier, Cynthia Golbuff, Julie Goodmanson, Nikolle Guion, Taylor Haller, Jennifer Hanna, Andrew Hernandez, Madison Herrera, Sabrina Hill, Jordan Hogstad, Jacquelyn Ingvaldson, Kristine Jacobs, Ashley Johnson, Hannah Johnson, Elizabeth Kunkel-Erickson, Sean Maxwell, Jordan Mayer, Amanda Montes, Dora Ogunkanbi, Laura Olson, Phillip Olson, Mikaela Pannkuk, Samuel Pfenning, Bailey Rye, Tierra Sanden, Derek Sathre, Daniel Silva, Hannah Silva, Erica Staat, Joshua Strand, Christian Talamantes, Seth Wagner, Monica Wallace, Monroe Warren, Jamie Williamson and Lyndon Jensen all of Albert Lea; Chase Christopherson, Noah Gjersvik and Christopher Martens of Alden; Andrew Goette and Zachary Lorenz of Bricelyn; Jill Jensen, Rickon Peterson, Mariah Posthumus and Louis Wagner of Clarks Grove; Brianna Anderson, Alex Blachko and Katelyn Crabtree of Ellendale; Cole Lenort, Carma Pederson and Rebekah Whitcomb of Geneva; kristi Fett, Kayla Gerber, Grant Herfindahl, Madison Nelsen, Katelyn Nelson, Paw Sher and Shaun Willaby all of Glenville; Gladys Cazares, Emily Christensen and Marissa Mortenson of Hartland; Ryan Dilly of Lake Mills; Seth Chapek of Myrtle; Traci Hoppe and Josh Knudtson of New Richland; Terran Haberman of Northwood; Amanda Enger of Twin Lakes; Jessica Huston of Walters and Sarah Carlson and Kevin Huper of Wells.

St. Olaf releases dean’s list

Albert Lea native Jack Buendorf, son of Diane Heaney and Clyde Buendorf along with Deanna Shellen, daughter of Dean and Susan Shellen, were named to the St. Olaf dean’s list for the spring 2018 semester.

The dean’s list recognizes students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale.

Albert Lea native recognized at honors convocation

At the annual University of Jamestown honors convocation, held April 12. Bryn Woodside was awarded the Distinguished Achievement Award in the Department of Nursing. This award is presented to a senior University of Jamestown Nursing student, selected by the nursing faculty, for outstanding academic achievement, contribution to co-curricular activities and leadership potential in professional nursing. Woodside was also inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society. Sigma Theta Tau International is an honor society for nurses, which emphasizes scholarship and leadership, research and education. Only 35 percent of a class is accepted for membership, and a 3.0 grade point average is required for student admission.

Woodside was named one of the class of 2018’s Representative Jimmies. The 10 winners of this award are voted on by the members of the senior class and are meant to exemplify the qualities and character that represent the graduating class as a whole.