Letter: Vote DFL in the Aug. 14 primary

Published 9:18 pm Thursday, August 9, 2018

On Tuesday, Minnesota voters are being asked to decide which candidates will be on the ballot to shape our future.

When voting in a primary in Minnesota, voters are required to vote for candidates from one party only. From Friday through Monday, the Minnesota DFL ticket will travel the state to bring attention to the primary and to encourage people to vote blue: U.S. Sens. Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith; Erin Murphy, the DFL-endorsed candidate for governor; Matt Pelikan, the DFL-endorsed candidate for attorney general; Dan Feehan, the DFL-endorsed candidate for Congressional District 1; and Ilhan Omar, in Congressional District 5.

Our DFL candidates up and down the ticket are committed to progressive politics that bring people together. While the Republican candidates are fighting over who is most conservative and telling voters they will cut government spending, they are not telling voters that means less money for seniors and students. DFL candidates are committed to seeing that no one has to worry about receiving care when they are sick, providing a world-class education to all students and building Minnesota’s infrastructure so that all Minnesota communities can prosper.

Email newsletter signup

Oftentimes, primary elections do not receive a lot of attention. This year is different. The candidates who move forward from the primary will appear on the November ballot. Voters are engaged because they know their vote truly makes a difference. Now in our third election cycle with the option to cast votes early, Minnesotans are taking advantage of voting by mail or in person prior to Aug. 14. Voters should be aware they can vote in person at their local county or city election offices from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday, as well as Monday during business hours.

Don’t miss out on the opportunity to shape our state’s future. Vote in the primary for the candidates who move Minnesota forward for all Minnesotans.

Ken Martin


DFL Party