Campus Notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, September 22, 2018

Area students recognized

Madison Willey of Albert Lea and Kaylee Johnson of Ellendale have been named to the dean’s list at Drake University. The academic honor is achieved by earning a GPA of 3.5 or higher during the spring 2018 semester.

A.L. students graduate

Email newsletter signup

Allison Fitzlaff and Jaclyn Weitzel of Albert Lea have graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point on May 19. Fitzlaff received a Bachelor of Science degree in soil and waste resources/waste management, and Weitzel received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in graphic design.

Area students graduate

Winona State University released its graduation list for the spring semester. Among those recognized were Laura Anderson Olson, Brielle Gilbertson, Meghan Holtz, Kylie Nelson, Elise Nyenhuis, Lucas Peterson and Laura Worke, all of Albert Lea; Alissa Bachtle of Northwood; Sarah Christenson and Julia Stenzel of Freeborn; Jennifer Ladwig, Derek Olson and Alison Wangen of Glenville; Mikayla Lindell of Ellendale; and Kalana Shurson of New Richland.

Winona State releases dean’s list

Winona State University announced the dean’s list for spring semester 2018. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full time in at least 12 credit hours for a grade and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Area students named on the list were Bryce Banton of Alden,, Tara Bauman of Wells, Paige Darrington of New Richland, Krista Davis of Albert Lea, Kelsey Enger of Albert Lea, Ryann Hagen of New Richland, Leah Meineke of Albert Lea, Lindsey Nelson of Albert Lea, Brooke Paulson of Albert Lea, Natalie Peek of Albert Lea, Kaitlyn Raatz of Albert Lea, Laura Ranniger of Manchester, Sara Rasmussen of Albert Lea, Kayla Roberts of Alden, Liana Schallock of Albert Lea, Anna Stork of New Richland, Kayla Sturm of Albert Lea, Kelson Titus of Geneva and Cassidy Williams of Albert Lea.

Austin native graduates

Jessica Lind of Austin received a Master of Arts degree with a major in library and information studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in May.

Lake Mills student receives scholarships

Iowa State University College of Human Sciences announced undergraduate students who will receive scholarships from the college and its academic departments.

Sydney Larson of Lake Mills, who is studying family and consumer sciences education and studies, was offered the Iowa Farm Bureau Scholarship from the college of human sciences and the Merlene E. Nelson Scholarship from the department of human development and family studies.