Campus Notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, October 12, 2019

A.L. student receives master’s degree

Keren Podboy of Albert Lea received a master’s degree in nursing from Allen College in Waterloo, Iowa, during its commencement ceremony on May 10 at Nazareth Lutheran Church in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

U of M-Duluth releases dean’s list

Email newsletter signup

The University of Minnesota-Duluth has announced its dean’s list for the 2019 spring semester. Students on the dean’s list have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Those receiving the honor include Kassandra Hardies and Riley Jimenez of Albert Lea; Emily Eder of Geneva; and Emily Prigge of New Richland.

Area students honored

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls released its spring semester dean’s list.  To be named to the dean’s list, a full-time undergraduate must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0. Area students listed include Alana Skarstad and Krystal Viktora of Albert Lea, Lacey Nelson of Ellendale; Madeline Phillips and Kallie Spooner of Hartland; Evan Dobberstein of New Richland; and Amy Groskreutz of Wells.

Ellendale student recognized on dean’s list

Amanda Buzzard of Ellendale was listed on the Minnesota State Community and Technical College dean’s list for the spring semester. To be included on the dean’s list, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 on a 4 point scale.

Local student recognized

A total of 356 students at Mitchell Technical Institute were listed on the spring semester 2019 president’s list, according to MTI President Mark Wilson. Students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and complete at least 12 hours of academic work during the semester to be eligible for the president’s list.

Megan Kortan of Albert Lea was among those recognized. She is majoring in radiation therapy.

Bethel University releases dean’s list

Carter Sola of Albert Lea; Gabriel Irons of Lake Mills; Elizabeth Nelson and Grace Nelson, both of New Richland; and Granger Kingland of Northwood were honored on the dean’s list for the spring semester at Bethel University.

According to a press release, the dean’s list honors students who achieve an outstanding scholastic record during a semester with a grade point average of 3.6 or greater.

MSU – Moorhead announces dean’s list

The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement spring semester 2019. Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Those recognized include Seth Chapek, a 2017 graduate of Glenville-Emmons High School, and Cassandra Unger, a 2009 graduate of Lake Mills Community School.

Dean’s list released

The University of Iowa has released its spring 2019 dean’s list. Area students recognized include Dominique Budach of Lake Mills, who is majoring in nursing, and Francesca Eckstrom of Albert Lea, who is attending the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Albert Lea student honored

Ian Olson of Albert Lea was named to Hamline University’s College of Liberal Arts dean’s list for the spring 2019 semester. To qualify, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and maintain a full course load.

Ellendale student graduates

Amanda Buzzard graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College following the spring 2019 semester.

Area students graduate

Gustavus Adolphus College released the names of those who graduated following the spring 2019 semester. Area graduates include Quinn Andersen of Albert Lea, who majored in political science; Keith Maxon of New Richland, who majored in exercise physiology; and Spencer Tolefson of New Richland, who majored in management and received Cum Laude honors.

Rochester Community and Technical College releases  honor rolls

Rochester Community and Technical College released its honor rolls for the spring 2019 semester.

Those listed on the president’s list include Joshua Knudtson and Paige Overgaard, both of New Richland. To qualify for the president’s list, students must have completed 12 credits or more for the same semester with a 3.75-4.0 grade point average.

The dean’s list included Brodie Fink and Wesley Hanson, both of Albert Lea. To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must successfully complete 12 or more letter-graded credits, in the same semester, and achieve a grade point average between 3.0 and 3.74.

The high academic achievement list includes students who have completed three to 11 credits for the same semester with a grade point average of 3.75 to 4. High academic achievement honorees were Andrea Riediger of Albert Lea; Jeffrey Lau of Northwood; and Brenda Harpestad and Alexis Mandler, both of Wells.

A.L. student graduates from Wartburg College

Haley Harms of Albert Lea graduated Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts in graphic design.

Dean’s list announced

The spring semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average on a 4.0 point scale.

Area students recognized include Rachel Rehnelt of Albert Lea; Solveig Stafford of Hartland; Bethany Tennis of Hayward; Betsy Schoenrock of New Richland; Chelsea Boyden and Maddison McChesney of Northwood; and Wendy Martinez Hernandez of Wells.