Campus notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, January 18, 2020

Albert Lea student recognized on dean’s list

Jacob Ware of Albert Lea was named to the fall 2019 dean’s list as a student in the College of Letters and Science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Students who achieve at a high level academically are recognized by the dean at the close of each semester. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must complete a minimum of 12 graded degree credits in that semester. Each university school or college sets its own GPA requirements for students to be eligible to receive the distinction.


U of M-Duluth releases dean’s list 

Madeline M. Fjermestad-Williams of Albert Lea was named to the University of Minnesota-Duluth dean’s list for fall semester 2019. Fjermestad-Williams is enrolled as a junior in the College of Education and Human Service Professions pursuing a degree in psychology.

Emily B. Prigge of New Richland was named to the UMD dean’s list for fall semester 2019. Prigge is enrolled as a junior in the School of Fine Arts, pursuing a degree in graphic design.


Several area students graduate from ISU

More than 2,200 graduates received degrees from Iowa State University. Amongst the graduates were Albert Lea students Schafer Overgaard, who received a Bachelor of Science in management, and  Karina Stripe, who received a Bachelor of Science in early childhood education with summa cume laude honors.

Other local graduates included Tyler Doran of Clarks Grove, who received a Bachelor of Science in agricultural studies, and Sydney Larson of Lake Mills, who received a Bachelor of Science in family and consumer science education and studies with magna cum laude honors.


UW-River Falls names area students to dean’s list

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls fall semester dean’s list honoring 1,755 students has been released. To be named to the dean’s list, a full-time undergraduate must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0, or midway between an A and B average. Area students on the dean’s list were Alana Skarstard and Krystal Viktora, both of Albert Lea; Megan Linn of Alden; Lacey Nelson of Ellendale; Anna Bailey of Geneva; Grant Herfindahl of Glenville; and Amy Groskreutz of Wells.


Local student named to MSU Moorhead dean’s list

Seth Chapek, a graduate of Glenville-Emmons High School, was listed on the fall 2019 dean’s list at Minnesota State University-Moorhead. Students recognized on the dean’s list must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

MSU Moorhead, with an enrollment of approximately 5,800 students, is a comprehensive university offering 141 majors, emphases and options, 11 pre-professional studies programs and 15 graduate programs.


Local student honored on dean’s list

University of Wisconsin-Superior has named George Bias of Alden to the dean’s list for academic achievement during the fall 2019 semester. To be recognized on the dean’s list, students must have completed 12 degree-seeking semester credits and achieved at least a 3.50 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale).

The University of Wisconsin-Superior is a nationally recognized public liberal arts institution of more than 2,600 students in the Superior-Duluth metropolitan area. Founded in 1893 as a teacher’s college, UW-Superior has more than 50 program offerings, select online and graduate programs, competitive Division III athletics programs and research and scholarship programs.


Area student on Whitworth University honor roll

Natalie Weiland of Albert Lea achieved Provost’s honor roll status for the fall 2019 semester at Whitworth University. To be recognized on this list, undergraduate students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.75 or better during the semester.

Located in Spokane, Washington, Whitworth University is a private, liberal arts school affiliated with the Presbyterian church. The university, which has an enrollment of more than 3,000 students, offers more than 100 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.


Gustavus Adolphus announces dean’s list

The fall semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average or higher on a 4.0 scale. Local students honored include Solveig Stafford of Hartland, along with Kourtney Kulseth, Betsy Schoenrock, and Maci Surat, all of New Richland.

Gustavus Adolphus College is a private liberal arts college in Saint Peter, Minnesota for 2,200 undergraduates. Fully accredited and known for its science, writing, music, athletics, study-away and service-learning programs, Gustavus hosts a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and is internationally recognized for its annual Nobel Conference.


Wells student on Baylor University dean’s list

Lauren A. Wetzel of Wells was among more than 4,400 Baylor University students named to the dean’s academic honor roll for the 2019 fall semester. Students honored on the dean’s list are Baylor undergraduates with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7, while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.

Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a campus community for more than 17,000 students. Located in Waco, Texas, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.


UW-La Crosse announces fall 2019 dean’s list

Several area students have been named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the fall 2019 semester, ending December 2019. Qualification for the dean’s list is limited to students who have attained outstanding academic achievement. To be eligible, students must have earned at least a 3.5 semester grade point average and carried a minimum of 12 credits.

Local students recognized were Natalie Day, majoring in English with a writing and rhetoric studies emphasis and Kayla Jensen, majoring in public health and community health education, both of Albert Lea; Kelsey Newman of Alden, majoring in accountancy; Torrie Stencel of Hartland, majoring in early childhood through middle childhood education; and Abby Christopherson of New Richland, majoring in management.

UW-La Crosse, founded in 1909, is one of the 13 four-year institutions in the University of Wisconsin System. UWL has more than 10,500 full and part-time students enrolled in 101 undergraduate, 28 graduate and two doctoral academic programs.