2024 Sesquicentennial Farm Award recipients announced

Published 6:07 pm Friday, March 29, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) is recognizing 44 recipients of the Sesquicentennial Farm award for 2024.

Since the program began in 2008, 559 families have received the honor.

To qualify, a family farm must be in continuous family ownership for at least 150 years, be 50 acres or larger, and currently be involved in agricultural production.

Email newsletter signup

A commemorative certificate signed by Gov. Tim Walz, Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commissioner Thom Petersen and MFBF President Dan Glessing will be awarded to qualifying families, along with an outdoor sign signifying Sesquicentennial Farm recognition.

The following area farms are being recognized:

Freeborn County

Albert Lea: Roger & Shirley Enderson, 1861

Albert Lea: Donald and Joanne Johnsrud Farm, 1865

Albert Lea: Roger J Pestorious and Jeannie Pestorious, 1871

Emmons: Nicholson Farm, 1860

Emmons: Schmidt-Stroklund Farms, 1861