2 incumbents, 1 newcomer file for Albert Lea City Council; all are unopposed

Published 9:56 am Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three candidates — two incumbents and one newcomer — have filed for the three seats up for election on the Albert Lea City Council. All three will run unopposed in their wards.

Rachel Christensen has filed for reelection for the Ward 1 seat. Voters elected Christensen in 2022 to finish the term of Rich Murray who ran successfully for mayor. With the partial term ending this year, the Ward 1 seat is up for election for the regular four-year term.

Jason Howland has filed for reelection for the Ward 3 seat. He was first elected in 2016, started his first term in January 2017, and will run again for a four-year term.

Email newsletter signup

Keith Van Beek has filed for the Ward 5 seat, currently held by Robert Rasmussen, who was first elected in 2016 and started serving in January 2017. Rasmussen has chosen not to run again. This seat is also for a four-year term.

The general election will be Nov. 5.

The Albert Lea City Council is made up of six councilors, each representing a ward or specific area of the city, and a mayor who represents the community as a whole. For the ward map, visit the city website at https://cityofalbertlea.org/ward-map-3/.