NRHEG trap team ends season

Published 11:04 am Sunday, June 17, 2018

The sport of clay target shooting is already a fun and challenging sport for folks of all ages,  but the NRHEG squad made it a focus of the week as they held their annual fun shoot and awards picnic last Tuesday.

Aside from the traditional trapshooting from the 16-yard line, the athletes had the opportunity to try shooting doubles (two targets at one time) and the ever popular Annie Oakley Shoot. 

About 90 athletes, family members and supporters converged on the Owatonna Gun Club  and were treated to both good marksmanship and good food catered by Superior Foods out of Ellendale. 

Email newsletter signup

After the meal, coaches Dan Sorum, Kim Olson, Al Kraay and Michael DenHerder passed out awards.  The team recognized 26 letter winners out of the team’s 57-member roster.  The high number of students who earned a letter is indicative of why the team dominated and won their conference for the spring season. 

They then called up the eight athletes who are recognized as top-25 shooters.  These students had season averages that placed them in the top-25 averages in the conference.

They are: Chancellor Olson, third; Evan Dobberstein, fifth; Caden Beauvais, seventh; Owen Perchel, ninth; Alex Dobberstein, 16th; Dalton Kraay, 16th; Alex Romer, 22nd, and Noah Alinder, 25th.

Next, the team recognized its top shooters.  Chancellor Olson was awarded the team’s Top Gun Award for his season average of 23.7 out of a 25 possible.  Olson was also recognized for his qualification to compete at the MSHSL state individual tournament to be held on Saturday at the Minneapolis Gun Club.  The Most Improved Shooter Award went to Aaron Senholtz.  Senholtz improved his average a total of 7.33 over the course of the season and finished just out of lettering in his first season.

Finally, the team recognized their two scholarship winners. 

For the last three years, the team has given out two $250 scholarships as part of their awards.  The scholarships are based on academic standing, team leadership, other activities and community involvement. Scholarships are voted on by the coaching staff.  This year Aaron Olson and Evan Dobberstein were selected for this honor.

The team wants to thank all of its sponsors, supporters, family members and the Owatonna Gun Club for making our season possible.